Download this podcast

The text for this lesson is Matthew 5:1–12

Key Point

  • Because Jesus was poor, hungry, sorrowful, hated, and rejected for our sake, God forgives our sins and blesses us with all good gifts, especially life with Him forever.
  • Law: In this world, I suffer and struggle because of my sin.
  • Gospel: Jesus offers comfort, mercy, and grace through faith in Him and gives me eternal riches and blessings.

Discussion Points

  1. In light of what you have just heard, in what way can the Beatitudes properly be called “the definition of a saint”?
  2. The first beatitude is “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 5:3). Jesus opens His first public sermon with these words, so they must be important. According to Matthew 20:25–28, how does Jesus live out this beatitude?
  3. The second beatitude is “Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted” (Matthew 5:4). For whom does Jesus mour n in Isaiah 53:4? In Revelation 21:4, what promise does Jesus make?
  4. The third beatitude is “Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth” (Matthew 5:5). According to 2 Corinthians 5:17, how do Christians inherit the earth? According to Matthew 25:34, when will the full inheritance occur?
  5. The fourth beatitude is “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied” (Matthew 5:6). Righteousness is what God has done for us in Christ. He has justified us, that is, declared us righteous. See Romans 4:22–25. When was that hunger and thirst for righteousness fulfilled?
  6. The fifth beatitude is “Blessed are the merciful, for they shall receive mercy” (Matthew 5:7). Jesus bore the sins of the world on the cross. The Father showed mercy by raising His Son from the dead. According to Matthew 18:23–27, how does Jesus show mercy to us?
  7. The sixth beatitude is “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (Matthew 5:8). Jesus is truly the only one who loved the Lord with all His heart and mind and strength. According to 1 John 1:5–10, how does Jesus make us pure in heart? According to John 14:9, how can we see God’s face?
  8. The seventh beatitude is “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God” (Matthew 5:9). Jesus is called the “Prince of Peace” in Isaiah 9:6. In His Baptism, Jesus fulfilled all righteousness and was called “Son of God.” According to Romans 5:1, how does God make peace with us? When are we made sons of God?
  9. The eighth beatitude is “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven” (Matthew 5:10). Jesus exemplifies suffering for righteousness’ sake. His work is what merited the kingdom of heaven for us. Who identifies Jesus as the “Righteous One” in Matthew 27:15–20? Who should have died instead of Jesus? According to 1 Peter 2:21–25, in what manner did Jesus endure this persecution and why?
  10. What are blessings to you? How does Jesus turn everything upside down in the ninth beatitude? How did the apostles in Acts 5:40–42 live out this beatitude? How does 1 Peter 4:13 say we should receive suffering?

You May Also Like